501 Ignition timing

Anything to do with motorcyles
huggins3719

501 Ignition timing

Post by huggins3719 »

I have recently acquired a 501 engined 350 Strada and have been having difficulty kick starting it. I have checked the plugs and all jets on the carburettors. I have just set the timing to the marks shown in the manual and with the leading edge of the pick up in line with the centre of the left hand transducer and fitted a new battery that is fully charged but all to no avail. It will not start with a kick but will start easily on rollers. It will then rev freely and tick over at 1500rpm. There is the occasional spit back through the carburettors but otherwise picks up cleanly when opening the throttle quickly. I am new to Moto Morini and have yet to learn any quirks. Any suggestions would be gratefully received. Nothing rude though!
mbmm350s

Re: 501 Ignition timing

Post by mbmm350s »

Hi Mark,

Is this a Kokusan ignition equipped 507cc motor with no electric start, is that right.

Mark
huggins3719

Post by huggins3719 »

Hi Mark

You are correct on all points.

Regards

Mark
MickeyMoto

Post by MickeyMoto »

Have you done a dynamic timing check?

Does it need choke?
3potjohn

Post by 3potjohn »

My 507 bike with Kokusan ignition and a starter motor is reluctant to kickstart when cold ,I would say nigh on impossible, though will oblige when warmed a bit.Its a tall bike so not so easy to kick anyway and I try to avoid kicking a bike on its stand. It is as good as I can get it timing wise.Maybe I need to work at it.
It always starts on the button.Not much use to you of course.
My 350 will easily kickstart.
Did that model ever have a starter option, if the cases allow?
John
norbert

Post by norbert »