Veloce or Avio – help required please?

Anything to do with the 1200 Corsaro series
Zeus44

Veloce or Avio – help required please?

Post by Zeus44 »

Hi all – new member here, very happy to meet you all!

I've been sniffing around the Veloce and Avio for many months now and feel I am very, very close to taking the plunge. I was just after a bit of advice on which model to go for.

I will use the bike all year round and do approximately 10k per year. I've test ridden a 2 year old Veloce (and adored it) but wonder if the Avio may be more what I am after.

If I go for the Veloce I may have to buy second-hand (2007 ish) but could perhaps stretch to a brand spanking new Avio – bearing in mind the 3 year warranty and fueling problems on previous versions I've seen mention on here I'm leaning towards the Avio, but still not entirely sold.

I found the Termi's on the Veloce to be a fantastic noise but the brakes were a bit thin – does anyone know if the Avio standard exhaust sounds similar and whether the brakes are better or worse than the Veloce?

One final thing, I know you don't buy a bike like this for economy, but is there a huge mpg difference between the two bikes when ridden fairly normally?

Any help will be greatly appreciated! :D
Emmohaswheelsagain

Veloce or Avio

Post by Emmohaswheelsagain »

Hi Zeus,

If you set on buying the 2007 veloce then do not worry about the fueling problems, you will have the balance of the warranty until 2010 and hopefully the backing of a good dealer to help you smooth out any issues you have. I can only speak from my own experience with my 2006 9.5 and the 1st class service from Stuart at NLM.
It is really though a matter of what you want, a raw edged rocket ship with attitude or a softer, smoother power delivery of the Avio. There's not much to choose on mpg here, both are quick and you will pay when you start to enjoy that Morini exhaust note.