Tarozzi Rearsets

The 3 1/2 forum
eekzoids

Tarozzi Rearsets

Post by eekzoids »

How many of you have fitted Tarozzi 'rear sets' ? I have only recently aquired my 3.5 Strada...my first ever Morini. Its lovely BUT the gear change is horendous..lever travel too long and finds neutrals very easily if you don't really swing your boot up. This makes gear changing really slow and completely spoils an otherwise wonderful bike. As I enjoy ducking and diving around London, there's a lot of gear changing, false neutrals,cursing and can even be dangerous when trying to pull out smartly and get away quick.
I read in an old ATG an article that said the rear sets improve the gear change...has anyone else found this to be so? As an underpaid school technician I can't afford to fork out for a set if they aren't any good. Has anyone in the London area got a bike set up with these that I could possibly try or even look at please?
Coxey

Post by Coxey »

I've rearsets on my 500 Sport - and it's a very natural riding position... any false neutrals are entirely rider error i.e. my clumsiness :wink:

If you can find a pair to fit on then I would at the drop of a hat :!:

Post by Jem »

the gear change on 72 degree V-twins is not the best in biker world. False neutrals ( between 2nd & 3rd?) and struggling to find the real neutral when stopped are common problems. The black art of setting up gear boxes was claimed by the late, great Phil Smith and NLM also offer a service but it requires a complete engine strip.
Adding Tarozzi rear sets is not straight forward and many members have reported they require "fitting" to work. More importantly, they only work with a kickstart from a Sport (very different from a Strada kick start) and an "extension" block which pushes the kickstart out so that it clears the brake lever & footrest; the last I heard is that NLM were out of stock of this crucial item. The club has considered having some made but hasn't come to a conclusion.