End of Tether

The 3 1/2 forum
tankstraddler

End of Tether

Post by tankstraddler »

I cannot get that enthusiastic about any other motorcycle than the Morini 350. Mine makes me feel good every time I see it in the garage. It would make me feel even better were it to start readily and run reliably but as it is it is a pig to start and fails regularly on the road, the only positive being that I get my money's worth from AA Recovery.

I am no mechanic (there, I've said it) and it has been in different expert hands which has made me poorer but no wiser.

The carbs have been taken apart and re-assembled and adjusted many times with new rubbers between head and carb. The pick up was pronounced suspect and replaced with an NLM adjustable item. HT leads and plugs have been replaced, of course and I removed the suppressors from and fitted new plug caps, replcacing the suppressors with suitably sized metal rod.

Poor starting is sometimes solved by a bump start, which suggests ignition to me but the poor running which develops leading up to failure (kangarooing, cutting out on closing the throttle) feels like fuel starvation but a static time/quantity flow check on both taps and at both carbs seemed OK.

I appreciate that most carburation problems are caused by ignition and vice versa and that components wear or fail with age but my gut feeling is that there is something simple which is failing intermittently rather than anything more serious like worn or damaged valves, for instance.

So does anyone have any ideas or a suggested order in which they would check (how?) and eliminate various factors to try to get to the bottom of it? Many thanks as always to you wise people out there.
3potjohn

Re: End of Tether

Post by 3potjohn »

When my ignition coil went bad the bike would not start easily,but ran OK.
72degrees

Post by 72degrees »

Ignition winding on the stator would be my guess.
dunk 1

Post by dunk 1 »