Replacement rectifier / regulator

The 3 1/2 forum
davel182

Replacement rectifier / regulator

Post by davel182 »

Does anyone have the NLM part number for their replacement rectifier / regulator so that I can check the Mdina website, please? I have scanned all the old posts and found some references to it, but not the part number they used (the OEM part number obviously has none in stock).

Alternatively does anyone know for certain whether the one for the Kanguro with more terminals (7 I think) can be used on the K1 (which uses only the 2 yellow plus brown on the "C" terminal - "R+B" left unused)? I have read Norbert's excellent description of the various versions but I want to be sure (I've already rather stupidly bought one wrong one!).

Thanks in anticipation.
Richard

Re: Replacement rectifier / regulator

Post by Richard »

As a Morini novice I'm not sure whether or not this helps, but...…..
I bought part number M167136 from NLM in May for my 1986 K2.
Richard
davel182

Post by davel182 »

Richard - thanks for the reply. The old NLM description "VCR 12V-7 & FIT" is not all that meaningful, but the slightly expanded Mdina description "Regulatot vcr 12v-7 & fitting instruction" does sound like it might be the 7-wire part described in Ralph's post viewtopic.php?f=4&t=1937, and Mdina have 3 in stock.

I have now seen that the Kanguro regulator has 6 positions for spade terminals with the first 5 marked G G +B C L but only the first 4 seem to actually have the spade there, so this is not unlike mine on the K1 but, as I said before, I'm trying to be sure this time before I buy. Norbert's post viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3632#p17731 refers to a terminal "B+" so maybe this is the "+B"?

Dave
Richard

Post by Richard »

It has 7 terminals of which 2 are not used and another 1 "red...(if you have one from stator)".