Doubt about red wire coming out of the alternator

The 3 1/2 forum
VELOCIRAPTOR

Doubt about red wire coming out of the alternator

Post by VELOCIRAPTOR »

I'm new to this forum, so I introduce myself and thank everyone for the help that I'm sure you can give me. I am writing to you from Madrid and I recently purchased a Morini 350 from 1977 that I am restoring. Surely I will have many doubts and I hope that with your help I can solve them.
The first of them is as follows: Two yellow cables come out of the alternator that go to the rectifier, a green one that goes up to the coils that feed the spark plugs and a fourth red cable that apparently, without going through the rectifier, feeds the battery.
I have very little knowledge of electricity, but I think that to charge a battery the current has to be continuous and not alternating, so I don't understand how this red cable, which I understand carries alternating current, can charge the battery.
Sorry if the wording of the message is not good. I don't know much English and I used Google translate.
Greetings to all.
morini_tom

Re: Doubt about red wire coming out of the alternator

Post by morini_tom »

The red wire is a 12V positive DC feed from the battery to the alternator centre tap. It does not carry AC from the alternator.

The yellow wires are AC which go to the regulator and from there a brown wire connects to the fusebox. So charging is via the yellow and brown wires, not the red.

The green wire is as you say the feed to the transducers ('coils'). An important note here- Never EVER put 12 volts onto the green wire. You will kill the transducers.
norbert

Post by norbert »

But what is the reason for tis cable, feeding the alternator with 12V? Am I right to suspect, that you can take it of without consequences for charging the batery?
Daddy Dom

Post by Daddy Dom »

¡Hola y bienvenido!

Estuve en Madrid en enero, es una ciudad preciosa.
DD
MRC 3082½
BumbleBee

Post by BumbleBee »

I think it's like this...