New to me mk1 Camel in OZ.

Camel, Sahara, Kanguro, Coguaro

Re: New to me mk1 Camel in OZ.

Postby rossguzzi » 09 Mar 2020 16:12

It is a DID 50 vm chain which is a 530. God knows why they used such a large chain for 40 hp ??
rossguzzi
 
Posts: 276
Joined: 23 Jan 2019 14:21

Re: New to me mk1 Camel in OZ.

Postby 72degrees » 10 Mar 2020 07:18

rossguzzi wrote:It is a DID 50 vm chain which is a 530. God knows why they used such a large chain for 40 hp ??


A good question. Both my 2C/350 (375)s have been converted to 520 chain. If it's good enough for a YZ450, or a Kawasaki ER6 I think it will cope with a Morini. Sourcing 520 gearbox sprockets is reasonably easy for the 'slot' mounting type (I even found a 13T) - perhaps not for the splined version?. Rear sprockets in steel are probably more of a problem to arrange, but some of the later Kanguros were 520 chain I think. For the mileages I do, custom alloy ones are fine.
User avatar
72degrees
 
Posts: 1278
Joined: 31 Aug 2007 21:24
Location: West Midlands

Re: New to me mk1 Camel in OZ.

Postby Steve Brown » 10 Mar 2020 11:24

Hi Ross, yes the filters can be washed in petrol and I'm sure that's what the makers used to recommend. One thing I can state for sure though is that you should NEVER wash them in trichlorethylene or anything really nasty like that. I'm not telling you how I know that. Petrol is fine, though as Norbert says maybe blowing with an airline will be enough if you are mainly driving through dry dusty conditions. Dry, dusty. Not heard that much round here lately :(

As for the chain, 520 is plenty and is lighter too. I thought it would wear quicker or break more easily than a 530 but not so. I was talking to a rep from DID some years ago who explained it to me. The shorter pins, bushes and rollers in a 520 result in a stronger chain, they are the same diameter of course. If you can get hold of a spec sheet from the chain makers the figures are all quoted there including breaking strain.

Anyone know of a UK sprocket supplier that keeps the Morini types in stock?

I like to use oil on my chains and prefer an automatic oiler to look after things. Fitted a Scottoiler to my Camel and a 'Loobman' to my Kanguro as it was a lot cheaper. Then I decided to swap them around as the Loobman enables you to give it some extra oil whenever you like at the push of a button, so handy for cleaning the chain of dust or mud as you ride.
All donations to the rest home for old Camels, Leicestershire.
Steve Brown
 
Posts: 755
Joined: 12 Nov 2007 23:44
Location: Leicestershire

Re: New to me mk1 Camel in OZ.

Postby Sheikh » 10 Mar 2020 12:14

Steve,

In the past I've had 520 sprockets the Camel made up by B&C Express in ally. From memory, they delivered in a couple of weeks. I sent an original as a template.

Using the thinner sprocket means that you can use a conventional M8 Allen bolt rather than the standard countersunk bolts which, in my experience, are self-loosening.

If you do order then make sure that you specify that you don't want extra holes in the sprockets, just the mounting bolt holes (without counter sink). The extra holes expose the slots in the hub that then fill up with mud.

H
Sheikh
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 01 Jul 2016 14:49
Location: Peterborough

Re: New to me mk1 Camel in OZ.

Postby Steve Brown » 10 Mar 2020 13:52

Thanks H, I keep forgetting about B&C! Good advice about the holes too.
All donations to the rest home for old Camels, Leicestershire.
Steve Brown
 
Posts: 755
Joined: 12 Nov 2007 23:44
Location: Leicestershire

Re: New to me mk1 Camel in OZ.

Postby rossguzzi » 10 Mar 2020 15:15

Around the 4 minute mark for a tyre change. :D https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uNXHNV9 ... U61xNiCGSg
Someone else said he was going to post up some footage of me going past him. Will post it here when he does. They all commented how good it sounded :D
rossguzzi
 
Posts: 276
Joined: 23 Jan 2019 14:21

Re: New to me mk1 Camel in OZ.

Postby rossguzzi » 20 Mar 2020 02:54

rossguzzi
 
Posts: 276
Joined: 23 Jan 2019 14:21

Re: New to me mk1 Camel in OZ.

Postby harrymuffin » 22 Mar 2020 11:42

You can get sprockets in alloy or steel from the machinist who used to make Roger Mauphlings sprockets and now works from an old wood yard in Knucklas near Knighton, Powys - thats in Wales for those who live within 100 miles of London. I buy them as toothed blanks for around £10. Rather than use expensive chain oiler oil, buy chain oil for a chainsaw, much cheaper and copes with not flying off on chains that go round much faster than motorcycle chain.
harrymuffin
 
Posts: 199
Joined: 07 Apr 2014 16:06

Re: New to me mk1 Camel in OZ.

Postby Steve Brown » 22 Mar 2020 15:48

harrymuffin wrote:You can get sprockets in alloy or steel from the machinist who used to make Roger Mauphlings sprockets and now works from an old wood yard in Knucklas near Knighton, Powys - thats in Wales for those who live within 100 miles of London. I buy them as toothed blanks for around £10. Rather than use expensive chain oiler oil, buy chain oil for a chainsaw, much cheaper and copes with not flying off on chains that go round much faster than motorcycle chain.


Contact details for the chap in Knucklas would be useful, or a business name I could google. I can buy blanks too but not able to do the rest of the machining. I have a man that can but prefer not to call on him at every little job so would rather use someone who is doing that job already. I agree about chain oiler oils too. I've lately been using engine oil, the leftovers you have after every oil change. I used to keep them and top up an old can till I had another full measure. Then found I had to many such cans lying around from too many varied motors to be absolutely sure what was in each one. So now they are all dedicated chain oil! Strangely and happily it doesn't seem to fling any more than the 'proper' stuff! :)
All donations to the rest home for old Camels, Leicestershire.
Steve Brown
 
Posts: 755
Joined: 12 Nov 2007 23:44
Location: Leicestershire

Re: New to me mk1 Camel in OZ.

Postby rossguzzi » 07 Apr 2020 12:31

Update.
The last ride I went on turned very dusty. 1/2 way through I thought, I hope the new air filters are coping ! Our dust is like fine ground up rust. Very abrasive.
So a week after the ride I got to do some maintenance. Check air filters and I see they did not cope. They were new from Mdina. Sealed top and bottom with rubber grease. Dust got down the intake. SHIT !!
Heads off again. Valves, guide, bores etc OK but it looked like the valves were not lapped properly. Cleaned everything, lapped valves, reassemble everything and it is riding even better than before !
I think one of the valves was not sealing properly before.

So, if you live in a dusty environment don't rely on the standard filters. Even K&N have a bad reputation here in dirt bike circles.
I am going to get a washable foam pre-filter to go around the stock one. I will then adjust the jetting to suit.

So I have the bike running fantastic now and guess what ? HOUSEBOUND !!

Bloody virus.

Hope your all well,
Cheers.
rossguzzi
 
Posts: 276
Joined: 23 Jan 2019 14:21

Previous

Return to Off road bikes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests