1959 Corsaro carb tuning

Singles built before the Lambertini era
hotfoothowell

1959 Corsaro carb tuning

Post by hotfoothowell »

Just bought a "fully restored" 125 Corsaro, with a Dellorto carb, marked U8F20BS (but the 8 could be a B, and vice-versa). After cleaning the carb (which the vendor tells me came off a Corsaro Veloce), it will only run on full choke, suggesting that it is running lean. Can anybody say what the correct jettings and settings are? Main jet is 92, with a 6.5gm float. I have checked out the ignition system, and it seems OK. Thanks
morini500dave

Re: 1959 Corsaro carb tuning

Post by morini500dave »

Hi.
Check your pilot jet is 42,above main jet atomiser,8mm spanner,main jet 98 or 100.The carb is ub20bs,float is correct,do you have a filter? may be a Dellorto F18/20,if so is it clean internally.I've some experience with these engines,Corsaro/Sbarazzino,currently have both types running well.

Hope this is helpfull,post reply as to your results!
Regards Dave.
morini500dave

Post by morini500dave »

Hi.
Forgot to say,also airscrew set at around 1/2 turn out from closed.
Dave.
hotfoothowell

Post by hotfoothowell »

Thanks, Dave
That suggests that my main jet is too small, but where do I find the numbering on the pilot jet? There is a filter on top of the float chamber, which has been cleaned, along with the rest of the carb.
Patrick
morini500dave

Post by morini500dave »

Hi Patrick.
If you go on to the Eurocarb Reading web site,www.dellorto.co.uk and on their home page put part number 1488,the jet will be pictured,in reality this jet is quite small and I have to use a magnifing glass to read the numbers clearly!
Hope this helps/
Dave.
hotfoothowell

Post by hotfoothowell »

Dave